Situated in the same part of town, the Collège Raoul Dufy (Raoul Dufy Secondary School) and the Ecole de Management de Normandie (Normandy School of Management) are two of the schools in Le Havre. They have seen changes and additions over time, but, on the outside, they remain original and authentic, each with its own identity.
The collège Raoul Dufy (Secondary School)
Previously called the Lycée de Jeunes Filles, this school was built from 1950 to 1956 by Pierre-Edouard Lambert, a member of the Perret Studio. It will be the first school of the Reconstruction.
The school buildings form a vast square courtyard, receiving lots of sunlight and well-sheltered from the wind. The influence of Auguste Perret shows everywhere: the buildings are of sober facture, their structure is exposed, a structural module was followed, the windows are vertical, the in-filling slabs vary in colour and shape; there are columns, claustras, entablatures, and see-through glass square vaults; all the characteristics of “Structural Classicism”, as defined by architecture historian Joseph Abram, are on display.
The Normandy School of Management
Initially created in the nineteenth century, the Ecole Supérieure de Commerce, (Superior School of Commerce), is now called l’Ecole de Management de Normandy (Normandy School of Management). It was meant to further the local vocation for trade linked to the maritime and port activities of the city.
It was destroyed in 1944 and Robert Royon, the architect in charge of its reconstruction, placed it at a street corner and gave it tall columns in the true spirit of the Perret Studio precepts. You can explore further in the surrounding streets.
Restricted Access to both buildings